joomla logo

Joomla Template Creation

Frank Thoeny, Website Developing, WordPress

You may be wondering what I’ve been doing for the last couple months. Well, I have been working hard. I decided to sit down and wrap my head around Joomla. The Joomla platform is widely used by many Fortune 500/1000 companies for their websites. I already have my head fully wrapped around WordPress, but that’s just not enough. The more CMS platforms you know, the better. Joomla has built-in support for SEO, so it’s no wonder that Joomla is chosen by Website Developers over WordPress. WordPress can be built up to do everything Joomla does, but it’s so much easier to have it built-in and there are more options than you can shake a stick at.

Joomla Template Creation is somewhat different than developing a WordPress Theme for the most par, but on the other hand it’s still not too awful difficult. Directory structure is different, yet we are still working with PHP, HTML, CSS, JavaScript to create the new template.

XML files are what makes up the configuration for  templates. What I have done in my tutorial is use the Beez Theme as a demo.

Leave a Reply

